Election for new parish councillors 2nd May

Ashwell Parish Councillors are all up for re-election in May 2019.

There will be 12 vacancies to fill, would you like to be involved?

Parish councillors are elected by the public at an election, normally held on the first Thursday in May every four years. The date for the next parish council election in this parish is Thursday 2nd May.  The deadline for applications to be with NHDC is Wednesday 3rd April.

Nomination forms (see below) will be accepted by the NHDC Returning Officer on any working day from 10am to 4pm from 26th March through to 3rd April inclusive. NB make sure you get it signed for. 

Electoral roll numbers required on the form can be obtained from the NHDC Electoral Services Officer 01462 474503

or from the Parish Council office.

Being a parish councillor is an unpaid position. The councillors meet monthly, on a Wednesday evening, but most other duties can be carried out to fit in with ‘normal’ life.

Whether it involves activities for young people, making local roads safer, inspecting planning applications, ensuring local businesses can thrive, managing on behalf of the village; the Recreation Ground including the pavilion and public toilets, the Springs, the Cemetery and land at Small Gains, the role of a parish councillor gives you the ability to make a difference.

Without a fully functioning parish council we could be subject to determination by the next level of local government and this would not necessarily be to the advantage of residents.

For more information speak to one of the current parish councillors or the Parish Council Office.

Our county association (HAPTC) and the national association (NALC) have published lots of information about what parish councillors do. 




Nomination forms are available from the Electoral Commission website or here


Completed forms MUST be returned to North Herts District Council by Wednesday 3rd April. Details are on their website -click here

Sign up now for latest email updates

Add your email address here to receive the latest email updates