# Minutes of the AGM and first meeting of the Ashwell Parish Council (elected 7<sup>th</sup> May 2015) held on Wednesday 13<sup>th</sup> May 2015 in the Parish Room at 8.00pm

**Present:** Councillors Mark White (Previous Chairman and re-elected at item 1), Graham Lee,

Madeleine Legg, Bridget Macey, David Short, David Sims.

The Clerk was also in attendance. Members of the public: None.

1. Election of Chairman Cllr Mark White was proposed, seconded and elected (unanimous).

Apologies were noted from Cllr Martin Hoffman (away on holiday).

- 2. Election of Vice-Chairman Cllr Martin Hoffman was proposed, seconded and elected (unanimous).
- 3. Code of Conduct
- **3.1** Proposal to re-adopt the Ashwell Parish Council Code of Conduct adopted 1<sup>st</sup> August 2012, and for the arrangements for the grant of dispensations, declarations of interests and the provisions for publicity.

It was *resolved* to accept the proposal.

- **3.2** 'Openness and transparency on personal interests: A guide for councillors' published by the Department for Communities and Local Government, March 2013 was noted.
- **4. Standing Orders** Proposal to re-adopt version dated 2<sup>nd</sup> October 2013.

It was *resolved* to accept the proposal.

- 5. Financial Regulations
- **5.1** Proposal to re-adopt version dated 5<sup>th</sup> March 2008.

It was *resolved* to accept the proposal.

- **5.2** List of preferred suppliers. It was agreed that this be reviewed at the next meeting of the Finance Committee.

  Finance Committee
- **5.3** Bank account signatories. It was proposed that Cllr Graham Lee replace John Connolly; Cllrs Mark White, Martin Hoffman and David Short to remain.

It was *resolved* to accept the proposal.

Clerk

## **6.** Appointments and nominations

**6.1 Committees** It was agreed that, with only seven members, what was achievable and the way matters had previously been structured, would need to be reconsidered; a further meeting would be scheduled for this. It was agreed that, if suitably able and willing individuals were identified, co-options to committees would be considered. As the recent election had only resulted in seven nominations, co-option to the main council was not an option for the present. It was agreed that the Skills Audit be reviewed and updated.

Clerk

**6.1.5 Planning Committee** It was agreed that (i) all parish councillors would continue to be members, (ii) until the autumn (when daylight precluded evening meetings), all applications would be considered at a site meeting, (iii) procedures would be reconsidered in the autumn.

## **6.2 Parish Council Working Groups**

- **6.2.1 Neighbourhood Plan Group** Cllr David Short to continue as leader; noted that Cllrs Madeleine Legg and Graham Lee also members.
- **6.2.2 Website Group** Cllr Graham Lee agreed to consider options for the website, and communications using social media, and report back.
- **6.2.3** Yearbook Group Cllr David Short to continue as leader; the majority of existing members had agreed that they would be pleased to continue.
- **6.2.4 Speed Watch Group** Cllr Martin Hoffman to continue as leader.
- **6.2.5 Church clock chimes law changing group** Cllr Graham Lee to continue as leader; noted that any further action was pending the implementation of the volume control device and subsequent outcomes.
- 7.3 Appointments to other bodies and representatives for other bodies
- **7.3.1 Ashwell Village Trust.** It was noted that the trust deed stipulated, in addition to the chairman, there should be two parish councillor trustees. The trustees were Cllr Mark White (Parish Council Chairman and, in accordance with the trust deed, Chairman of the trustees), Cllr Bridget Macey (Parish Council trustee), Mr Gordon Hill (trustee and Hon Treasurer), Mrs Liz Moynihan (trustee and Hon Secretary), Mrs Jane Porter (trustee in her own right and, as Parish Clerk, Clerk to the trustees).

It was *resolved* that Cllr David Sims replace Jane Buxton as a parish councillor trustee. Clerk

**7.3.2 Moss Cottage Homes** It was noted that, in accordance with the terms of the trust, the Parish Council appointed four 'nominative trustees' who held office for four years. Current trustees, with dates of

Ashwell Parish Council	
Page 1 of 2	Chairman's
minutes 13 may council AGM 2015.doc	SignatureDate

appointment were Mrs Carol Moore (2012), Mrs May Cook (2012), Ms Madeleine Legg (2014), Dr Reno Coladangelo (2014). There was no requirement for any new appointments this year.

Proposals for parish councillors to act as representatives/routes of communication with other village organisations. The following were agreed:-

Ashwell Museum – Cllr Martin Hoffman (noted that he was a Museum trustee in his own right).

Ashwell School Governing Body – Cllr David Short (noted that he was a school governor in his own right). Village Hall – Cllr Mark White.

Henry Colbron Trust - Cllr David Short.

Police matters – Cllr Bridget Macey; Cllr David Sims to support.

Youth matters – It was agreed that a suitably able and willing individual was required; a parishioner would be approached with a request that they provide regular reports to the Parish Council on youth matters.

## 8. MINUTES OF COUNCIL MEETING 6<sup>th</sup> May 2015

It was *resolved* that the minutes be approved and signed.

#### 9. MATTERS OF REPORT FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS

**9.1** (06 May Council, 144.4) Housing development at Walkdens (Case ref. 14/0336/1)

It was noted that the developer and their building contractor were to hold a public meeting to brief local residents; Thursday 21st May 6-7pm at the Village Hall.

It was noted that many aspects of the build process were covered by conditions as part of the planning approval process; these were itemised on the NHDC Decision Notice and relevant documents were available on the website.

The NHDC Planning Officer had confirmed (i) she was satisfied with the proposals for the extension of the archaeological investigations following further findings on the site; the County Archaeologist had endorsed these, (ii) the first phase of the build process to remove large quantities of spoil would involve vehicular access via Ashwell Street; only once suitable hard standing had been installed would access via the existing Walkdens be permitted. This was for reasons of health & safety.

It was agreed that any questions should be put to the developer at the public meeting; several parish councillors indicated that they would attend.

9.2 (06 May Council, 142.4) HCC Inspiring Libraries Strategy. Cllr David Sims reported that an email had been received from another council with information re a petition protesting at proposals to do away with mobile library services. This had been distributed as widely as possible.

## 10. CORRESPONDENCE

10.1 Cricket Club request to install a notice at the entrance to the Recreation Ground with information on forthcoming fixtures. It was agreed, although there was no objection in principle, that further detail be requested; there were concerns about the exact location, whether it would be removed out of season and the need to avoid 'clutter' should other clubs want similar notices. Clerk

10.2 District Councillor Janine Paterson. It was agreed that an email be sent welcoming her as the new District Councillor for Arbury; an invitation to attend parish council meetings would be included.

Clerk

M	eeting	closed	at	9.	50r	٦m
TAT	CUIIIZ	CIUSCU	aı	<i>_</i> • • •	JUL	,,,,,

Next meeting Wednesday 3<sup>rd</sup> June 8pm in the Parish Room.

Ashwell Parish Council	Chairman's
Page 2 of 2	
minutes 13 may council AGM 2015.doc	Signature